Chaos upsets Ward’s Automotive in semifinals

Article content

This coming week should be the culmination of the Tillsonburg Slo-Pitch season.

Best-of-three finals will be played Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. The A, B and C championships will be played on Annandale 3 with D and E divisions competing on Kiwanis.

A Division

Platinum Concrete rallied late to knock off first-place Bob’s Sister in one semifinal and G.C. Lounsbury Dirty Mitts won easily over Haines Roofing in the other. The final will pit second-place G.C. against fourth-place Platinum.

Platinum 27, Bob’s 14

Platinum: Aaron Laporte 5-5, Kieran Taylor 4-4, Adam Thomson HR, Trevor Oakes HR, Tyler Lamb HR, Matt Heleniak HR, Kale Bilger HR, Shawn Finch HR

Bob’s: Josh Stubbs 3HR, Bryan DeBlaire 3-4, Darren Pace 2HR, Ryan Black HR, Mike Wencel HR

Platinum scored 14 runs in their final two at-bats.

G.C. 25, Haines 15

G.C.: Justin Miller 3-3, Travis Nikin 3-4, Trevor Stuyt HR, Jarrett Anderson HR, Colin MacDonald HR, Thom Puhr HR, Tim Townsend HR

Haines: Kyle Smith 4-4 HR, Travis Horvath 4-4 HR, Jake Klassen HR, Kevin Harrop HR, Greg Buchner HR

Sean and Justin Miller and Colin MacDonald all reached and scored in three consecutive at-bats.

B Division

Chaos upset top seeded Ward’s Automotive in the first B semifinal and third-place Team Awesome outslugged second-place Smitty’s Electric on Friday. The best-of-three final will feature the two bottom seeds.

Article Sidebar


Story continues below
This advertisement has not loaded yet, but your article continues below.

Article content continued

Chaos 30, Ward’s 23

Chaos: Nathan Boldt 6-6 HR, Dave Phipps 5-6 2HR, Randy Miller HR, Justin Clapdorp 2HR, Ryan Carroll HR

Ward’s: Ryan Bruckler 4-4, Brett Parsons 4-4, Brayden Rodgers 2HR, Connor Smith 2HR, Brandon Velda 2HR

Leadoff batter Nathan Boldt was the catalyst reaching and scoring six times.

Awesome 31, Smitty’s 20

Awesome: Martin Klassen 6-6 2HR, Dan Dietrich 5-5, Mike Burgess HR, Jon Nunn HR, Steve Voth HR, Derek Burgess HR

Smitty’s: Johnny Klassen 4-4, Doug Falkins 4-4 2HR, Ross Groat HR, Jesse Legg HR

C Division

It will be a rematch of last year’s semifinal as Trophy Property Expos and Sluggers will contend. Sluggers easily defeated Norfolk Electric in one semi and Trophy spotted Pelicans an early seven-run lead before outscoring them 18-0 after that.

Regular Season

Pelicans 27, Sluggers 26

Pelicans: Nick Wilson 4-4, Robert Verhoeve 4-4 HR Sluggers: Nick Neufeld 5-5, Cam Beuckert 4-5, Pete Dyck 3HR, Frank Harms HR, Evan Beuckert HR

Trophy 21, Norfolk 6

Trophy: Jayme Wallace 4-4, Matt McQueen 4-4, Andrew Garnham HR, Greg Fleming HR

Norfolk: Damion Bancroft 3-3, AJ Johnson 2-2


Sluggers 18, Norfolk 8

Sluggers: Martin Fohr 3-4, Pete Dyck 2-3, Evan Bueckert HR, Cam Bueckert HR

Norfolk: Tom Gammage 3-4, Damion Bancroft 3-4

Pete Dyck and Cam Bueckert each crossed three times.

Trophy 18, Pelicans 7

Trophy: Dave Weaver 3-4, Trevor Fleet 4-4, Spencer Meron HR, Wil Hanson HR

Pelicans: Matt Summers 2-3, Adam Jensen 2-3


Story continues below
This advertisement has not loaded yet, but your article continues below.

Article content continued

Trophy played some excellent defence behind the pitching of Trevor Fleet.

D Division

The top two seeds advanced to the final. John Beere won by nine over Catlack Excavating while second-place Jokers advanced winning by three over Bad News Bears.

Regular Season

Catlack 20, Brew Jays 11

Catlack: Andrew Pocs 5-5, Brady Silverthorne 4-4

Brew Jays: Josh Knoflock 4-5, Tom Csoff 3-4

John Beere 40, Inner Bay Renos 20

Beere: Bob Long 7-7, Shaun Elliott 7-7, Kalvin Smith HR, Theo Karagis HR, Cody Long 2HR, Shawn Brooks HR, Jason Verhaegghe 2HR

Inner: Mark Pressey 4-4 HR, Craig Petit 3-4, Jeff McKay 2 HR, Craig Boucher HR

Jokers 29, Catlack 12

Jokers: Wes McDougall 5-5, Scott Freeman 4-5, Brandon Pyette HR, Rob Stortz 2HR, Brian Simmonds HR, Ryan Copping HR, Chris White HR

Catlack: Justin French 3-4, Kevin Greenhead 4-5, Mike VanWynsberghe 2HR, Chad Vigar HR

Wes McDougall had five hits and scored five for Jokers.


John Beere 23, Catlack 14

Beere: Bob Long 5-5, Kalvin Smith 4-5, Shawn Brooks HR, Cody Long HR

Catlack: Justin French 4-4, Kyle Mudford 4-5, Chad Vigar HR

Pitcher Bob Long helped his own cause reaching and scoring five times.

Jokers 18, Bears 15

Jokers: Russell Morgan 4-4, Matt Freelan 4-4, Chris White HR, Ryan Copping HR

Bears: Ryder Terry 3-3 HR, Steve Vandegulik 3-3 HR, Jordan White HR, Dillon Terry HR, Scott Beattie HR

Matt Freelan led the Jokers with a triple and three singles.

E Division

Brew Jays and Inner Bay meet in the semifinals Tuesday. The winner will play Crusaders.