Voice of Slo-Pitch in Tillsonburg

Article content

The local season for slo-pitch has finally ended for another year.

The Tillsonburg Ladies B Final was won by EMI Steelerz who came back from a two-game deficit winning three in a row over ServiceMaster.

The Tillsonburg Men's A title went to Maple View Variety who defeated Haines Roofing in Game 5.

Hollister KIA Kekambas swept the B Final over Big Bass Brawlers.

Many thanks to Men's exec president and umpire Chris Parker, who revitalized and spear-headed the slo-pitch all-star night in July.

The Men's executive did an admirable job in dealing with some difficult and controversial issues along the way this season, doing everything to protect the betterment of the league and its membership.

Thank you to Kurt Walker, who stepped up to become the umpire assigner, and to all the umpires who officiated our games, especially Mike Schmeltz and Troy Temple, who umpired both Men's and Ladies.

I'm very thankful to two members of the ladies executive who made my job so much easier -- Meaghan Leathong, who provided me with the ladies stats and scoresheets every Thursday without fail, and scheduler and Ladies executive liason extraordinaire Jen Hillner. My sincere gratitude to you both.

Jen looked after all aspects of the scheduling including booking the umpires. She's been so helpful and approachable, however she's informed us that she won't be returning to that position next season. She'll be hard to replace!

That's it for this year, see you all on the diamonds in May!


Maple View Variety D-Backs captured the Men's A Playoff Championship with an impressive 15-6 win in the fifth and deciding game over Haines Roofing. Haines had evened the series Thursday night with a two-out seventh-inning rally.

Maple View Variety 15,

Haines Roofing 6

Game 5

Maple View Variety: Ryan Miller 4-4, Mike Wencel 4-5 HR, Randy Miller 2 HR

Haines Roofing: Dave Phillips 3-3, Brett Ferguson 3-3, Phil Durham HR

Maple View sent a message early plating six in their first at-bat. Randy Miller led the winners with a pair of home runs. Mike Wencel homered and scored four runs.

Haines Roofing 15,

Maple View Variety 14

Game 4

Haines Roofing: Craig Smith 3-3, Steve Byron 4-5 HR, Andrew Jacko HR, Dave Phillips 2 HR, Phil Durham HR

Maple View Variety: Kevin Johnson 3-3, Ryan Miller 4-4 2 HR, Ryan Black 2 HR, Mike Wencel HR

Martin Klassen and Scott Harris each reached and scored in Haines' seventh-inning rally.

Maple View Variety 20,

Haines Roofing 16

Game 3

Maple View Variety: Randy Miller 5-5, Ryan Carroll 2-2 HR, Ryan Miller HR, Ryan Black HR

Haines Roofing: Shawn Finch 4-4 2 HR, Brett Ferguson 3-4, Dave Phillips HR, Phil Durham HR

Ryan Black's two-run homer in Maple View's six-run sixth helped decide this one.

Haines Roofing 25,

Maple View Variety 11

Game 2

Haines Roofing: Steve Byron 4-4, Dave Phillips 3-3 2 HR, Phil Durham 2 HR

Maple View Variety: Jeff Page 3-4, Ryan Miller 2-4, Mike Wencel HR

Haines Roofing plated runs in every inning, including seven in the second keyed by Dave Phillips' three-run homer.


Hollister KIA Kekambas swept Big Bass Brawlers to win the Men's B Division title. They won the first two games despite playing with only nine.

Hollister KIA 17,

Brawlers 11

Game 1

Hollister KIA Kekambas: Travis Horvath 5-5 HR, Brandon Rohrer 4-5, Kyle Hollister 2 HR

Big Bass Brawlers: Brent Schooley 2-2, Steve Derks 3-4, Rick Pihokker HR

Kyle Hollister led the winners with a pair of three-run homers.

Hollister KIA 28,

Brawlers 27

Game 2

Hollister KIA Kekambas: Travis Horvath 6-6 2 HR, Benson Howey 6-6 HR, Kyle Hollister 2 HR, Chad Barclay HR

Big Bass Brawlers: Shaine Hall 4-4, Bob Evans 5-5 HR, Joe Stone HR

Evan Prouse had the walkoff hit for Kekambas. They plated 16 runs over their last three at-bats to record the come from behind win.

Hollister KIA 27,

Brawlers 15

Game 3

Hollister KIA Kekambas: Travis Horvath 5-5 3 HR, Cody Furlong 4-5, Kyle Hollister HR, Chad Barclay HR, Taylor Ostermaier HR

Big Bass Brawlers: Brent Schooley 4-4 HR, Kevin Karnes 3-4, Ross Groat HR, Bob Evans HR

Hollister KIA spotted the Brawlers an early 6-3 lead before once again increasing their run production from the fifth inning on, en route to victory. Travis Horvath went yard three times for the winners.


EMI Steelerz came all the way back from two games down to ServiceMaster winning three straight to take the B title.

ServiceMaster had a slight advantage over EMI in Game 5 as they fielded 10 against nine. EMI scored runs in every inning while they shut down ServiceMaster in their last two at-bats.

EMI Steelerz 27,

ServiceMaster 18

Game 5

EMI: Jordan Coderre 4-4, Rhonda Mayo 5-5

ServiceMaster: Brit Nicoll 4-5, Steph Erdelac 4-5

Jordan Coderre scored six runs for EMI. Deanna Littler crossed five times.


This advertisement has not loaded yet, but your article continues below.

Article content

News Near Tillsonburg

This Week in Flyers