Tillsonburg's Voice of Slo-Pitch

Article content

We have finally made it to at least the semifinals in all the Men’s divisions.

The Tillsonburg Men’s C Final opened on Thursday night between first place Cain’s Pelicans and second place Hit N Run.

There were no Ladies scoresheets received this week!

Eichenberg’s did end Great Lakes Physio – Corey’s six-year reign sweeping them in convincing fashion, and were full value for the win.

That celebration most likely carried on into Saturday’s annual ghetto-ball event!

Men’s A

IC Waters won their fifth straight playoff game last week after upsetting first-place Haines Roofing twice.

After winning by five in the opener they came from behind in the seventh winning in walkoff fashion in the eighth to take a 2-0 series lead.

Gators tied up the other semi with Maple View Variety after beating them Thursday night.

IC Waters 13, Haines Roofing 8

Game 1

IC Waters: Steve Leacock 4-4 HR, Shawn Cranes 3-4, Mike Shewan HR

Haines Roofing: Phil Durham 2-2 HR, Steve Byron 2-3

Steve Leacock homered, tripled and scored four runs for IC Waters.

IC Waters 15, Haines Roofing 14

Game 2

IC Waters: Mike Shewan 4-4, Steve Leacock 4-4

Haines Roofing: Phil Durham 4-5, Shawn Finch 3-4, Craig Smith HR

IC plated four in their last at-bat to force the extra inning. Shawn Gaitens had the walkoff base hit plating Steve Voth.

Men’s B

Hollister KIA Kekambas punched their ticket to the semifinals eliminating GC Lounsbury Dirty Mitts beating them by four on Tuesday.

DeGroote-Hill won in walkoff fashion in their lidlifter with Hollister KIA Kekambas edging them 27-26.

Kirwin and Oatman beat Big Bass Brawlers by nine in Game 1. The Brawlers became the Maulers in Game 2 mercying them in six.

DeGroote-Hill 27, Hollister KIA Kekambas 26

Game 1

DeGroote-Hill: Jim Long 4-4 HR, Trevor Fleet HR, Doug Falkins HR, Bob Long HR (grand slam)

Hollister KIA: Chad Barclay 5-6 HR (grand slam), Cody Furlong 4-5, Travis Horvath 3 HRs, Benson Howey HR

The nine-man KIA squad took over the lead with a seven-run seventh. DeGroote-Hill won it with Bob Long’s walkoff inside-the-park grand slam.

Kirwin and Oatman 16, Big Bass Brawlers 7

Game 1

Kirwin Oatman: Joe Fansher 3-3 HR, Jordy Thompson 3-4, Jason Godby HR, Cheyne Sarafinchin HR

Big Bass: Joe Stone 2-3, Rob Derks 2-3, Jason Nesbitt HR

Joe Fansher tripled, homered, singled and scored three runs for Kirwin.

Big Bass Brawlers 20, Kirwin Oatman 5

Game 2

Big Bass: Steve Derks 4-4, Brent Schooley 4-4 HR, Sean Guardhouse 2 HRs, Jay VanGroningen 2 HRs

Kirwin Oatman: Jordy Thompson 2-3, Darryl Whittington 2-3, Thom Puhr HR, Cheyne Sarafinchin HR

Big Bass Brawlers sent a message early plating seven in the first. They did the same in the fourth. Sean Guardhouse homered in both innings.

Men’s C

Cain’s Pelicans advanced to the C final against Hit N Run after a dramatic walkoff victory over Delhi Dodgers last Tuesday night.

The game was tied from the third inning on. Delhi stranded a runner on two in the eighth. Cain’s won it in their half.

Cain’s Pelicans 11, Delhi Dodgers 10

Game 5

Cain’s: Adam Jensen 4-4 2 HRs, Kurt Vaughan 3-4

Delhi: Marty Macdonald 3-4, Craig Franklin 3-4

Ryan Verbuyst had the walkoff base hit with one out in the eighth. Adam Jensen led Cain’s with a pair of homers.



Article content

Latest National Stories


Story continues below

News Near Tillsonburg

This Week in Flyers